Heritage watchdog gets new members

Queensland’s Heritage Council has four new members in what Environment Minister Andrew Powell describes as a “revitalisation” of Queensland’s 11-person heritage watchdog.

While the same representative groups remain on the Queensland Heritage Council – the Queensland Council of Unions, regional councils, a heritage architect, the Property Council of Australia and the National Trust – there are now two Property Council members.

The new members are: the vice-president of the Queensland Council of Unions, William Marklew; Brisbane-based architect and historical assessor, Ivan McDonald; and Property Council of Australia representative, Marcus Ford.

They replace the previous QCU representative Dr Howard Guille, heritage architect Peter Marquis-Kyle and Local Government Association of Queensland representative Barbara Hovard.

There is an extra representative from regional Queensland, with Queensland Canegrowers deputy chairman Anthony Ross earning a nomination.

John Cotter, the former head of AgForce and now the chairman of the Queensland Gasfields Commission, keeps his spot as a regional representative.

Fraser Coast councillor George Seymour effectively takes the place of Cr Barbara Hovard, while existing members Stuart Lummis (Queensland Property Council) and Dr Judith McKay (historian) keep their spots.

Minister for Environment and Heritage Protection, Andrew Powell, said the new council was a good mix of the old and the new.

“I would like to thank all the current members for their work and dedication they have shown to preserving Queensland’s historical buildings and landmarks,” Mr Powell said.

“I take great pleasure in congratulating all members on their appointments and look forward to hearing their views on how best to preserve and protect our iconic places.”

Professor Peter Coaldrake, from Queensland’s University of Technology, keeps his spot as chair of the Queensland Heritage Council.

Who they are? Professor Peter Coaldrake has served as chairperson of the QHC for two years. He is vice-chancellor of the Queensland University of Technology. He has overseen a number of important heritage projects including the restoration of Old Government House. John Cotter is a current QHC member and current representative for rural industries in Queensland. He is the chair of the Queensland Gasfields Commission. Stuart Lummis is a current QHC member and is an active member of the Property Council of Australia. Mr Lummis has a role in managing over 76 heritage-listed properties as part of his employment. Glenda Sheaffe is currently a member of the QHC, representing the National Trust of Queensland. Ms Sheaffe has served on the National Trust council for more than 10 years and has been involved in heritage matters in Queensland for over 25 years. William Marklew is the vice-president of the Queensland Council of Unions and the secretary of the Union Shopper Incorporated. Mr Marklew has served on a number of boards including the Australian Defence Credit Union and the Endeavour Foundation.George Seymour currently holds the portfolio for community, family and cultural services on the Fraser Coast Regional Council. Cr Seymour is also the chair of the Heritage Reference Committee and chair of Maryborough Open House organising committee.Anthony Ross has been a state and regional director for the Queensland Cane Growers organisation for 12 years. He runs a large sugarcane growing business in Mackay and has a long-standing interest in cultural and historical matters.Leanne O’Brien was a member of the QHC for seven months, during which time she provided specialist legal advice to the QHC in the fields of town planning and heritage conservation matters.Judith McKay works as a consultant historian and curator and recently was the co-author of the Queensland Parliament House Conservation Plan. Dr McKay has worked as a senior curator at the Queensland Museum, trained in history and museology and been an expert witness in Queensland Planning and Environment Court hearings.Ivan McDonald is currently a heritage advisor to Ipswich City Council and Sunshine Coast Regional Council. Mr McDonald is a former councillor of the National Trust.Marcus Ford is a former board member of the Urban Development Institute of Australia and now serves on the Property Council of Australia.

This story Administrator ready to work first appeared on 苏州美睫培训.