Burke and Blatchs take out Super 6s 

Burke & Blatches are the 2012 Super 6s champions of the Parkes Golf Club.
Nanjing Night Net

Winners of the 2012 Super 6s competition are Burke and Blatch’s Tim Burke, Ron Jackson, Bruce Howard, Warren Blatch and Bill Burke. sub

At the season ending presentation night last Friday, B & B’s team leader and co-captain Bill Burke congratulated his fellow team members and the organisers for conducting the event.

He stated that his team would definitely be back in 2013 to defend the title.

Winners of the par three fun day competition were Aleisha Barnard (non-handicapped) and Warren Blatch (handicapped). sub

However, Burke didn’t reveal whether he would rename the team for the 2013 competition which commences on January 12.

In accepting his team’s award, Burke revealed that after winning the title in 2011 as Maguires, he decided to go out a winner.

Every other sporting event he had contested, either individually or as a team, he always received the wooden spoon – a trophy designated to the team that came last.

After this years win, the Noakes and Cowell perpetual trophy once again holds pride of place in his office.

Burke also congratulated his team captain, Warren Blatch, for his valuable assistance and commitment as well as the members of his team.

In the final round of the 2012 competition, B & B’s had a comfortable victory over Leading Bugs.

Friday Burglars cruised in their win over Cellar Crows while IGA All Stars had a narrow 4 ½ shot margin over Players, winning 134 ½ to 139.

PSC Bombers received a forfeit from the Lean Dream Team and All Sorts couldn’t believe their luck when title aspirants All Settlers couldn’t field a full team in their match.

As such they forfeited any chance of taking the title.

The final point score for the competition is as follows:

B & B’s 60, All Settlers and IGA All Stars 48, Players 46, Friday Burglars 44, All Sorts 38, Parkes Shire Council Bombers 36, Cellar Crows 34, Leading Bugs 22 and the Lean Dream Team 12.

In the individual competition from Round 10, IGA All Stars Tony “Scrubba” Evans blitzed the handicapped golfers section with a superb 29 nett.

In the non-handicapped players section, Greg Powter returned a solid 31 ½ nett to win the respective vouchers.

Ball Winners were 31 ½ Laurie Wakefield and Robert Cheney, 32 ½ Bruce Howard, 33 Bill Burke and on 34 nett was Anthony Heraghty.

Team nominations are now being received for the 2013 competition that will commence on the weekend of January 12-13.

However, officials have decided on a couple of major changes.

The first is that teams will be divided into two divisions after the first five rounds with the leading six teams making up division one and the remaining teams in division two.

The leading teams of both divisions will play off for the Super 6’s title at the competitions end.

The other major change is that teams can nominate up to eight players for the competition.

Only the best four scores will count towards the teams weekly score.

All other scores will still be eligible to win in the individual competition.

Interested people can put in a team with entry forms available from the Parkes Golf Club, Parkes Cellars, Parkes Tourism Office or from Michael Dellaca at Northparkes Mines.

A team Entry Fee of $50 must accompany the form and entries close on Wednesday, January 9, at 6pm.

Forms and entry fee must be at the Parkes Golf Club by this time.

Players contested a fun par three competition before the Super 6’s presentation.

Warren Blatch smashed the field in the handicapped section while Aleisha Barnard won the non-handicapped section.

New Parkes Golf Club president, Mark Kelly, was on hand to welcome new committee member and vice-president Colin Barker after a special general meeting last Saturday.

Members wish them every success during their term on the board.

This story Administrator ready to work first appeared on Nanjing Night Net.